Broccoli Cauliflower Salad

 

 

A work that will (hopefully) be in progress for several generations, my mom and I started a family heirloom cookbook for my daughter’s college graduation. Last year I scanned many recipes, and printed several that are in a custom binder. I still have many raw scans to work through. On this rainy day in Missouri I decided to work on a few more to add to the binder.

 

Below is an example of a page in the book. This dish is one of my daughter’s favorites, and she hopes to get it every time she visits her grandma.

Notice, we scanned the original recipe. Mom clipped it from the newspaper years ago, and when she decided it was a keeper she taped it to an index card for her recipe file boxes. Remind me someday to take a pic of her massive collection of recipes! I come from a family of foodies, and I suppose I passed that down to my daughter as well.

In the cookbook we like to add some photos of the person that introduced the recipe to us, and on some pages, we included some family history, shared memories of an event, or traditions from 70+ years ago.  Finding and scanning the recipes in the relative’s own handwriting is a fun thing to do. It preserves the recipe, the handwriting, the personality of the recipe in digital form, allowing multiple family members to have a piece of family history.

I’ll share some more as I edit more pages.  Let me know how your family is preserving its food related memories.

Broccoli Cauliflower Saladbcsaladpic

Leave a Reply

