Sweet Hawaiian Bread – SO SIMPLE!

Image

I pinned this recipe to try soon, and the response from the repins was overwhelming. The recipe comes from food.com and is the closest I’ve ever seen to the product you can purchase in the grocery store. 

Just a note: I don’t bake this in my bread machine. I just mix it on the “DOUGH” setting, and remove from the machine. I can decide whether to bake it in a loaf, rolls, muffin tins, braided bread or even bread bowls. 

“This is a great bread machine recipe that substitutes pineapple juice for the usual water, making it extra flavorful. The ingredient list is for a 1.5 lb loaf.”

Ingredients

    • 3/4 cup pineapple juice
    • 1 eggs
    • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
    • 2 1/2 tablespoons honey
    • 3/4 teaspoon salt
    • 3 cups bread flour
    • 2 tablespoons dry milk
    • 2 teaspoons fast rising yeast or 2 teaspoons quick-rising yeast

Directions

  1. Place ingredients in bread machine container in order directed by manufacturer.
  2. Cycle: white, sweet, no timer.
  3. Setting: light.

For the nutrition information, click here.

 

 
26 thoughts on “Sweet Hawaiian Bread – SO SIMPLE!

  1. If you mix on dough cycle of your bread machine, how long do you let it rise, and how long to bake? at what temp? Great idea. Can’t wait to try it!

  2. I just tried this beautiful looking recipe in my new bread machine as my first time bread make. Disaster is ensuing as i type!!!! I dont know what i did wrong lol ..

  3. Pingback: SUPER EASY Sweet Hawaiian Bread Bread Machine Recipe-•3/4 cup pineapple juice •1 eggs •2 tablespoons vegetable oil •2 1/2 tablespoons honey •3/4 teaspoon salt •3 cups bread flour •2 tablespoons dry milk •2 teaspoons fast rising yeast or 2

  4. I just made this recipe completely in my bread machine turned out perfect with a rounded top. I heated up the pineapple juice in the microwave and tempered the egg into the juice. And set the machine on sweet bread setting.

  5. Hi Kim,

    Thank you for sharing this recipe…. This recipe seems to work perfectly well in my bread machine. It is my family’s favourite & I hv baked it several times. Nothing altered, I just followed the recipe step by step. BM setting: Sweet / 750gm loaf size (equivalent to 1.5lb)

    Fizzy,
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  6. what if you don’t have a bread machine. Can you use a kitchen aid mixer to combine all the ingredients and then bake it or what are the directions to making this wonderful bread without the bread machine?

      • Hi! I had no bread maker or even nice mixer but I really wanted to try this recipe so I mixed the dry and wet ingredients separately than gradually mixed the two together, threw them in the oven at 350 for about 45 min and it turned out great!! Very delicious. For better results I’m sure a bread maker and or mixer is def the way to go, however if your missing those things like I was this recipe is still possible.

  7. I am Portuguese, and growing up my Grandmother Mary would make Portuguese Sweet Bread on special occasions. I am hoping this tastes just like hers. It will bring back so many happy memories. Fingers crossed. …

    • My inlaws were Portuguese Hawaiians and she gave me the recipe for the most divine Portuguese Sweet Bread. I love it and it is so yummy toasted and slathered in butter.

    • Another reader left this comment. I hope it helps! Remember, you can make loaves, rolls out buns.
      CJsArtStudio
      pinterest.com/andrecon1
      andrecon1@yahoo.com
      72.129.183.215
      For most yeast breads, to make without a bread maker, you can mix together and then knead by hand for about 5 minutes. You want it smooth and elastic. Place in a greased bowl, cover and let rise until double. This can be up to 1 1/2 hours. Punch it down, form into your loaf and place in loaf pan. Let rise again until double, then bake at 350 for 45 min to an hour. Keep checking though. When it is nicely brown on top it is most likely done. Hope this helps those like me that don’t use the bread maker.

    • I’ve never tried. I’m thinking the liquid would change the consistency of the dough? Never fear, I’ll share my recipe for hot chocolate mix that will use the remainder of the dry milk powder. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

